Announcement Detail

2022 General Election Report


A Public Affairs Company


  2022 General Election Report


State Races


Democrat:       Governor Ned Lamont

Republican:     Bob Stefanowski

As expected, Ned Lamont defeated Republican challenger Bob Stefanowski but the margin of victory is not clear.  Results from around the state show that Lamont ran well in the suburbs, helping Democrats add to their already large margins in the State House and State Senate.  The only negative for Lamont appears to be a much lower turnout in the state’s larger cities.  For example, New Haven cast 34,000 votes for Governor in 2018 but only about 21,000 in 2022.  80% of those votes went for Lamont.  Stefanowski did not concede, stating that he will address the public tomorrow. 

Attorney General

Democrat:       Attorney General William Tong

Republican:     Jessica Kordas

Attorney’s General William Tong was re-elected for a second term.  Republican challenge Jessica Kordas has conceded.



Democrat:       State Representative Sean Scanlon

Republican:     Mary Fay

Sean Scanlon leads Mary Fay 52% to 48%.



Democrat: Erick Russell

Republican: State Representative Harry Arora

This race remains too close to call.

Secretary of the State

Democrat:       State Representative Stephanie Thomas

Republican:     Dominic Rapini

Democratic candidate, Stephanie Thomas continues to lead Dominic Rapini 51% to 46%.

Connecticut State House

The House Democrats appear to have picked up an additional three or four seats tonight, increasing their majority in the House to 97-54 or 98-53.

Connecticut State Senate

Similarly, it appears that the Senate Democrats may add at least two additional seats to their margin, which would now be 25-11.  

House & Senate Leadership

The four Caucuses will gather to vote on legislative leadership on November 9th and 10th following the General Election.

State Legislative Committee Appointments

The House Democrats will make committee assignments in December.  We expect that the other three caucuses will also make committee assignments in December.

Federal Races

United States Senator

Democrat:       U.S. Senator Dick Blumenthal

Republican:     Leora Levy

Senator Richard Blumenthal won re-election quite easily.  Republican Leora Levy conceded early in the evening.

United States House of Representatives

District 5

Democrat: U.S. Representative Jahana Hayes

Republican: Former State Senator George Logan

While U.S. Representative Jahana Hayes holds a slight lead in the 5th congressional race but the race is too close to call. 

The Democratic incumbents easily won the other four districts.

District 1

Democrat: U.S. Representative John Larson

Republican: Larry Lazor


District 2

Democrat: U.S. Representative Joe Courtney

Republican: State Representative Mike France

District 3

Democrat: U.S. Representative Rosa DeLauro

Republican: Lesley DeNardis

District 4

Democrat: U.S. Representative Jim Himes

Republican: Dairen First Selectperson Jayme Stevenson